Listening to consumer advocacy campaigns, you’d think our only influence on the developing world is at the cash register.

The Myth of the Ethical Shopper (long-form piece), Michael Hobbs

During 2015 I have bought only fairtrade or second hand clothes, because though I don’t think boycotting works, it was about touch. I didn’t want something touching my skin, that had been held by someone who was poorly paid and possibly endangered by making that item. I think I’ll still do it, though I have bought 2 pairs of shoes that weren’t, but it’s very complicated. This article was very interesting, and I’m left thinking – but what then?

Leave a Reply

